Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / Certifications / Can we certify a welder?
- - By MBlaha (***) Date 11-18-2003 22:14
I went with my son today to sign up for the Boilermaker's Apprenticeship program. He will move to the upper part of the list if he has a welding certification. It does not need to be from a particular company, just a certification. What I am wondering is if we can use a prequalified WPS from D1.1 and test him to it if we fill out a WPQTR taken from D1.1?
He had welding in the vocational school I taught for and I have been teaching him myself which is what I did for 5 years at a manufacturing facility as well as working as a Boilermaker (tube welding included in all factions (including mirrors). I have all the confidence in the world in his ability. We just need a cert that says he can do it. It will not be anything that he will be able to use on a job as all the work we do is ASME.
Being a CWI, I will not witness the results. I will have another CWI do that. In fact, I will not even be present when he tests.
I hope this makes sence and everyone understands what I am trying to help him with.
All I am trying to do is give him some help getting in sooner or even at all. He will still have to attend all the classes, do his lesson plans, and prove that he is capable of performing the work to graduate from the apprentiship program, including taking a 6G GTAW root and SMAW fill and cover pass.
Any help in this would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Mike
Parent - - By Neal Chapman (**) Date 11-19-2003 01:31