Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Which one? Red or Blue?
- - By djk3340 Date 12-11-2003 23:50
I've been lurking on this board for a little while and I know this is an overasked question, but I have to do it. I am a mechanic and I plan on purchasing a 115v Mig in the near future. Here's the question. If you had your choice would you buy the Lincoln SP135 plus or the Millermatic 135? I can get either for the same price. Purchase the Miller from a local dealer or buy the Lincoln off of the net? I know that the area I live in seems to be "blue" just by calling local dealers. Thanks in advance for the advice.
Parent - - By bzzzzzzzzzz (**) Date 12-12-2003 01:03
Get the 220 line put in and buy a welder that matches it.
Parent - By - Date 12-12-2003 01:41
Or, buy the 120 volt machine, and wish you had the 220 till you kick yourself enough to get it. Them small 120 volt machines are real easy to sell, as long as you don't have to demonstrate it.
Parent - By gangel99 (*) Date 12-12-2003 02:06
Not having the money to get 220V in my garage I bought a Lincoln SP135+. I am very happy with it but it is definitely light duty - realistically limited to 1/8" mild steel. I think the other guys are right - if you can get 220v I'd go with a heavier machine.
Parent - - By kekoakeakane (*) Date 12-12-2003 02:37
I would also say go for the 220 if you can. Either way, I have the Millermatic 175 and like it very much. I do have all blue (i.e. MIG, TIG, Plasma), but that's more because the Miller Reps here treated me better than the Lincoln guys. Plus the Miller Distributor has 4 stores vice 1 for Lincoln.
Parent - By 357max (***) Date 12-12-2003 03:42