Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / 7018 Root on Pipe
- - By cawelder (**) Date 12-13-2003 01:05
I have a job next week where some pipes are cracked and I have to oversee the repairs. I was faxed the WPS for the repair today. And it is showing an open butt 60 deg. V-joint, in the 6G position. The only thing is, the wps shows 3/32" E7018-G-H4 Root and 1/8" E7018-G-H4 fill and cap. The welder thats assigned to do the work is certified 6G with a 6010 root and 7018 fill and cap. Im I wrong by saying that he's not qualified for this wps? Wouldnt he have to recertify with a 7018 (or eqal F#) root pass? The way I see it, the 7018 was run on top of the 6010 so the 6010 would be as a backing. So he would only be qualified to run a 7018 with backing.

Before becoming an inspector, I was a welder for seven years, and I have never heard of running a 7018 on a root pass with no backing. I myself could not imagine having to qualifiy to this procedure. That just seems like a very difficult weld to make. These pipes have to be 100 percent VT MT and UT as well. Man do I feel sorry for these people.

Any suggestions?
Thanks
Chuck
Parent - - By vb (*) Date 12-13-2003 03:10
Hi Chuck,

We just discussed this in the welding inspector course I'm taking. Often in the piping welds up here, the 7018 is quoted to weld root pass with 7018. The way around it... the welders sneak 6010 in their pockets, and weld the root when nobody is looking :) !! As for the testing, the only place it might show is with distructive testing - but you can only get caught by non destructive testing if the higher ups see the welder using 6010. This was stated by an inspector with 20 yrs experience - I believe him.