Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Welding Crafts
- - By Goldwinger Date 12-25-2003 17:44
Hi,
Could anyone give me advice on the best way to make small welds
on 1/8 and 3/16 rolled steel. I will have to make several small welds
making crafts like candle holders and such. I have a small century
100A powermate wire feed welder and have tried it with the flux wire
but didnt have much luck. Would it be worth while to get the gas bottle
on it? Or would a spot welder or something else work better?
Thanks in Advance, Gordy
Parent - - By CHEVYTOWN13 (**) Date 12-25-2003 18:17
Welcome to the gang G.

I have a Lincoln ProMig 135, and for light duty, I can honestly say I'm happy with it.

A pro will stop by soon and give a complete answer. We have a good group here and it's here where I have learned a ton. Searching is a good buddy here...

I'm an artist myself and started making furniture not too long ago. Again, welcome to the Blue's club...

http://www.fungusworks.com/TheShow/html/Exhaust.html (half way down the page)

RM
Parent - By Mike W (**) Date 12-25-2003 18:45
Hi, get the gas setup. I use CO2. I often make small welds like you are talking about. I tried the flux core once......only once. It said right on the box that some welders may not like the appearance of the weld. They were right.
Parent - - By pipewelder_1999 (****) Date 12-25-2003 19:01
I just sold a small thermal arc 80 amp CC machine that I used to tig weld with. It would turn down very low and I have actually run a bead on the side of a piece of ER70 Tig wire.

Any SMALL dc output stick machine that operates off 110 would be suitable for what you describe. All you need then is an air colled GTAW setup and gas bottle. (And some practice if you have never tig welded before.

Also, Oxyacet brazing and welding work great too. The brazing is best in my opinion if color match is not important.

Have a nice day

Gerald Austin
Parent - - By Goldwinger Date 12-28-2003 05:48