Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Lincoln Hobart Clarke ReadyWelder
- - By TekTools Date 01-03-2004 05:05
Hello,

Newbie here. I've been trying to digest mig welder info. for a year now and at some point in the near future I will buy a unit. However, I still greatly appreciate first hand experience. So my questions:

1. At this point, I have reasoned that Lincoln and Hobart are about equivalent machines, in either 120 or 240 volt range. Anyone agree or disagree?

2. I also surmise from opinions that Clarke is an inferior machine. However, I have never read a review by someone that actually used a Clarke. Does anyone have specific experience as to why Clarke is an inferior welder? Please don't comment if you do not have specific knowledge concerning Clarke, and in the same frame of mind please don't be shy to comment positively about Clarke, even if it means you might risk "welder's wrath". I'm finding that most people just seem to strongly favor what they use or what there father used.

3. And lastly, has anyone used the Ready Welder (a battery powered welder)?

Thanks
Parent - - By sparx (**) Date 01-05-2004 13:52
Welcome to the board.
Here are my opinions.......
Lincoln and Hobart are not equivalent machines. The lincoln equipment is superior to the Hobart for a number of reasons. I won't get into them, you'll just have to take my word for it. If you are looking for an equivalent to the Lincoln (SP 135 or 175 for example) the Miller machines are a closer bet. (Hobart machines are the entry level Miller machines to put it simply).