Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / "As welded" ASME question
- - By Skip (*) Date 01-22-2004 19:11
Anyone know what ASME code to "as welded" vessels is concerned?
I am building a small 3 drum water tube marine boiler (27sqft heating surface 200 psi mawp) to power a boat.
As I am a pipewelder by trade, I will be using ASME approved material and butt joints for said project. As this boiler is being used for marine use in a private vessel it is exempt from local (Canada) codes as well as Coast Guard.
If I need to stress relieve my boiler, could someone let me know.
Material will be 6", 2"and 3" sch 80 A106 gr B for steam, mud drums, and down commers. SA 515-60 5/16" plate for top of mud drums, SA 182 1000 pound 1/2" forged couplings, and pipe caps on steam drum made of equivelent material.
Thanks
Skip
Parent - - By chall (***) Date 01-22-2004 20:04
Hello Skip,

"As welded" means prior to any PWHT.

I am not sure how anyone is going to be able to answer your question regarding PWHT with any certainty. The ASME Codes of construction require PWHT unless there is a specific exemption given in the chart appropriate for the materials welded (in your case P-1).

The codes I'm familiar with are all a bit different in defining those exemptions (I, VIII, B31.1 & B31.3).

Even though you say the construction is exempt from local and Coast Guard Codes, there must be a specified code of construction. Without that information, giving advice on PWHT is just a guess.

Chalres Hall
Parent - - By jon20013 (*****) Date 01-23-2004 13:07
Skip, Charles; my read on ASME Codes, though none specific are mentioned would be these materials would NOT required PWHT due to their thicknesses. If in doubt, preheat the materials to 200 degrees Fahrenheit and that would exempt from PWHT to most of the ASME Codes.
Parent - By Skip (*) Date 01-24-2004 00:59
Thanks for your input fellas.
Skip