Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / I don't know if this is the right place
- - By mikejf Date 02-01-2004 00:27
I am new to welding and my boss thought it would be good practice to build him a monkey cage for one of his monkies, so I have spent the better part of the past 2 days MIG welding without gloves or long sleeves. Needless to say I discovered what flash burn is. I woke up this morning and the first thing I noticed was the smell of burning skin and I put my arm up close to my nose and it was my arm that smelled like that. Is there anything I should be worried about health wise? Thanks in advance.
Parent - - By MBSims (****) Date 02-01-2004 00:57
Soiunds like you learned the hard way about the need to protect yourself from the UV rays from welding. Treat the burns the same as you would a severe sunburn and get yourself some gloves and a good welding jacket, welding sleeves or at least a heavy cotton long-sleeved work shirt, such as denim.
Parent - - By mikejf Date 02-01-2004 01:38
Thanks for the advice. Also, would flannel make a good welding shirt? I have a couple of those I use for work on occasion but would it be at risk to catch on fire? Thanks again.
Parent - By texarc (*) Date 02-01-2004 01:59
mikejf

I can simpathise, I have to recomend welding leathers I have had many small jobs with a mig that I thaugh would not burn me and then there was that smell. I have a permanet j branded on my arm due to a overhead repair with a mig welder on some lockers at one of my high schools.A small peice of red hot welding wire fell on my arm. Bottom line is leather is the best protector, and as for the burns I agre treet them as a bad sun burn.
Parent - - By sdcwi (*) Date 02-01-2004 18:32