Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Difference between arc, mig, and gas?
- - By ChopperCharles Date 02-18-2004 23:29
I work on motorcycles and cars as a hobby (my day job is computers), and on several occasions I've found the need to weld something. In the past I have either taken it to a machine shop, or simply purchased a new part. But I'd really like to be able to do the job myself. However, I can't find a whole lot of information about the differences between welding machines.

I know arc welding uses rods, produces lots of slag, and is damn near impossible to strike an arc with a 110 volt unit.

I know MIG is supposed to be easy to learn and produce strong welds.

I know next to nothing about gas (oxy acetelyne), except not to use it on anything that your life depends on, like a motorcycle frame.

Basically, what are the differences in weld quality and strength for these three types of welders? I'm going to mostly be welding thin sheet metal and at the most 1/4" thick steel to make forward controls, brackets, and frame gussets.

What do you suggest I start out with, and what price range am I looking at to get some decent equipment? I don't want some cheap chinese junk that will blow up on me, but I don't want to spend $1000 either. American Made if possible. 110 volt is absolutely essential.

Thanks.

Charles.
Parent - By gangel99 (*) Date 02-19-2004 04:11
You could do a little research - Finch's book has lots of good information on all welding methods and he is also a car guy.

I work with the same range of materials - sheet metal, 1/8" plate and angle, and occasional 1/4". I use an oxy-acetelyne torch for cutting and some welding. O/A is better for welding light sheet metal than anything else (except, arguably, TIG). Get a decent American brand because O/A is really dangerous when things go wrong.