Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Will random flux hurt a weld?
- - By gangel99 (*) Date 02-24-2004 02:04
I have a 110V wire feed mig which I've always used with shielding gas. Recently I got some .035 flux core so I could weld thicker steel. When I tack I notice that flux dust spreads around the tack - maybe 1/2" - 3/4".

I've never done or seen flux core welding before so I don't know the answer to a pretty simple question: Should I clean off this flux before welding the full joint between the tacks?

Parent - - By welder_guy2001 (***) Date 02-24-2004 02:43
Flux core welding is just like stick welding, only it's in wire form. You don't have to clean the tacks if you are just messing around or practicing...but if it's something you want to hold together for a long time, I'd clean the slag off.

Also, you don't need to use the shielding gas w/ your kind of flux core. I didn't know if you knew that or not. It's actually self-shielded flux core if you want to get technical. There is also gas shielded flux core, but that is usually only run in machines w/ 200 amp output or greater.
Parent - - By gangel99 (*) Date 02-25-2004 03:25
I did know not to use shielding gas. As you said I thought it was similar to stick however stick seems to produce a solid slag that needs to be chipped and the flux core seems to produce a powder.

Thanks for your reply!
Parent - By welder_guy2001 (***) Date 02-25-2004 05:05
Interesting...with the self-shielded flux core I've run the slag had to be chipped off. I wonder if you got a wet batch of wire? Is it E71T-GS?
Parent - - By jwright650 (*****) Date 02-25-2004 11:21