Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / Preventing or Containing Weld Splatter
- - By Hi-lex Date 02-26-2004 15:03
Hello everyone, I am an Engineer, but not a welder. I am trying to help my manufacturing plant find a solution to our weld splatter problem. We currently weld galvanized stamped brackets to a galvanized roll formed rail which is a sliding surface. Splatter is deposited onto the rail during welding and causes problems for our sliding application. They have tried adjusting the welder settings to reduce splatter, but the weld strength is not sufficient. I would appreciate advice for preventing or containing the splatter during welding. Thank you.
Parent - By jwright650 (*****) Date 02-26-2004 15:20
Remove the galvanized coating before welding. Just in the weld joints.
John Wright
Parent - - By kam (**) Date 02-26-2004 15:26
Hi Hi
We might need alittle further info to better assist you. What is the material thickness you are welding? Maybe list current parameters...i.e volts, amps, wire type, gas...ect. Are these hand welds or is it on an automated system.
Is you setup capable of pulse? If so that would be something I would look into. Also check your torch angles. Most of the time I run into excessive spatter it is usually do to changes made to the torch angles for the automated systems anyway. I have all my parameters lock out. There are some products out there that are supposed to help reduce spatter (Like Spattershield system) but I havent tryed them...maybe they work maybe not.

regards

kam
Parent - By Hi-lex Date 02-26-2004 21:00
The rail thickness is 1.2mm, the bracket thickness is 1.6mm. There are three projection beads on the bracket. It is an automated projection welding process on a 150Kva welder. Thank you for your suggestions.
Parent - By dee (***) Date 02-26-2004 23:27