Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Help-How do I wire from 3 to 1 phase
- - By UKmxer (*) Date 03-15-2004 21:28
I have bought a euro lincoln mig and it has come in 3 phase but has the option to run on 1 phase.It tells you how to change the bars inside and which jumpers to use. But the wire has 4 core not 3 core as on our 240V in the uk.
The colours are brown ,blue, black and earth.
Connected blue and brown and earth to a 240V as UK house plug but do not know what to do with the black.
The brown,blue and black go to a contactor block inside the welder which has a movable middle, which when I press lets power go from one side to the other, but there does not seem to be enough going through to make it work.LED lights but solenoid or wirefeed does not work.
As you can see I am a total novice to 3 phase.
Please help I need to know if this welder works.
Parent - By welder_guy2001 (***) Date 03-16-2004 05:21
4 wires is for 3 phase...3 wires is for 1 phase. It's hard to say which wire is which without looking at the schematic diagram. For 1 phase there is one wire you don't need...but you need to find out which one.

It could be that you have the right wires hooked up, but the jumpers are hooked up wrong, giving you a lower voltage than you need for everything to run.
Parent - By sparx (**) Date 03-16-2004 13:13