Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / welding different metals
- - By artgirl (*) Date 05-15-2004 20:42
I need to weld some old corrugated roofing panels (galvanized) to copper plumbing tubing and then weld mild steel sheet and rods to the copper tubing. Will silicon bronze wire and argon in my MIG welder work? I am sure you have guessed, I am making another weird art thing.

Thanks,
Artgirl
Parent - - By billvanderhoof (****) Date 05-16-2004 04:38
I have no experience with mig and bronze wire but brazing this with an oxy-acetylene torch should present no problems.
Standard disclaimer about keep your head out of the galvanized fumes.
Bill
Parent - - By artgirl (*) Date 05-16-2004 17:29
Thanks Bill! I always wear a N99 respirator and keep my head out of the fumes when I am welding zinc. If I could do this rpoject on the bench instead of in mid air I would definitely braze. I can't figure out how to clamp it in the position I need to work. And it seems like a very large area to braze-- about 25 to 30 ft, maybe more.

Artgirl (BettyeTurner)
Parent - By billvanderhoof (****) Date 05-18-2004 03:33
Perhaps you should consider steel tubing, wrong color, but this sounds big and as another has mentioned, subject to aerodynamic forces. Be careful of "flutter" it can be very destructive. Steel is way stronger and is easier to weld. An all steel structure will also not be subject to galvanic corrosion as this one would. Strength may be an important consideration here.

You should have a website- then you should put pictures of your work on it- then you should post the url here so we can see some of your work.
Bill
Parent - - By TimGary (****) Date 05-17-2004 14:55
Hi Artgirl,

I'm not sure about the silicon bronze as I haven't done that before, but your post has me wondering about a few things.