Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Novice welder...
- - By Alex94TAGT Date 05-20-2004 08:48
Hello,

I may be out-of-line by posting here, but this seems like a very active/informative board. Sorry to plague you with my ignorance, but I could use a little insight.

I'm a 20-year-old college student, but part-time automotive enthusiast/hobbyist. I recently purchased a gasless Craftsman 120v FCAW with the following specifications: (gasp)

Input: 120Vac/20amp
Single-phase/60hz freq
Welding Range: 60-120amps
Output: 17v/80amp
20% duty cycle (ouch!)
25Vac open-circuit max
-Supposedly welds 18 gauge to 3/16" on a single pass.

I am aware of the pros/cons of flux-core, but know nothing about the welders themselves. I bought this primarily to learn how to weld, while also getting a few simplistic projects out of the way. I honestly dont care how the welds look -- I'm just concerned with functionality. After sifting through some old threads here at AWS, I'm worried that this thing is going to be an utterly worthless welder. (-I have not used it yet)

So, my question is, Did I just shoot myself in the foot by going with a Craftsman? Or would something like this be a decent stepping-stone for a novice? Money isn't a huge issue, but this kit seemed convenient and suitable for my application (minimal). I suppose I should also mention that I dont have access to a 240v outlet unless I weld stuff on top of my washer/dryer (-hesitant, but not wholly steadfast). ;)

Thanks in advance for any advice on the matter. I think I know what's coming...

Best Regards,

Alex Iams
Parent - By Alex94TAGT Date 05-20-2004 08:48
Whoa. -Didn't realize I wrote a book. Sorry about that...

And yes, I realize this is a subjective decision. Just looking for some thoughts.

~Alex
Parent - By sparx (**) Date 05-20-2004 13:34