Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / HSS joist stiffener plates
- - By zazing Date 05-21-2004 04:49
Hi, I'm designing an open web joist out of square HSS.

The AISC HSS Connections Manual on page 8-12 reads "The length of the stiffening plate Lp should be in accordance with the AWS D1.1 provisions for joint can length as it is a similar reinforcement principle."

I can't find reference to "Lp", or "joint can", or even "stiffener plate" anywhere in D1.1 (2004). Where do I look?
Parent - - By swnorris (****) Date 05-21-2004 12:35
Hi zazing,

I'm no engineer, but maybe what you're looking for is in D1.1 Section 2, Design of Welded Connections. Part A is for Common Welded Nontubular and Tubular, and Part D is for Welded Tubular for Static or Cyclic Loads. I can't picture in my mind exactly where you're locating these stiffener plates on your HSS joist without seeing a drawing, unless you're using them as gussets. Gussets are referred to as reinforcement in D1.1 under Limitations of the Strength of Welded Connections at 2.24.2.2, and Table 2.4 Fatigue Stress Design Parameters. You may want to check out the commentary in C2.24 also. The only thing I see regarding "stiffeners" is in 2.8.3.4, which addresses transverse stiffener welds, but that is under Part B Requirements for Nontubular Static or Cyclic Loads. Maybe the word you're looking for in D1.1 is gussets, not stiffener?
Parent - By jwright650 (*****) Date 05-21-2004 14:25
Hi Scott,
Wonder if the stiffeners are going inside the tubing at each end to aid in the prevention of crushing the tubing at the bearing points at each end?
John Wright
Parent - - By zazing Date 05-21-2004 14:42