Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / Certifications / Qualifications to certify the welders
- - By vijay_bachi Date 06-29-2004 10:56
Hello

Iam a Diploma Holder in Mechanical Engineering. I have 5 -6 years experience in welding Inspection & supervision and also getting welders qualified by third party.

What are qualifications required for my self to qualify & certify the welders internally & externally

Thanks

regards

Vijaybhaskar.R.M
Parent - By jon20013 (*****) Date 06-29-2004 11:44
What are your Codes? If working to AWS D1.1 for example the verbiage is something like "any competant person or engineer" (Not a quote). If ASME IX, there are no specific qualifications for the person performing the act of certification to the best of my knowledge so, in my own opinion, as a Mechanical Engineer you would probably have acceptable qualification.
Parent - By GRoberts (***) Date 06-29-2004 14:29
I don't know of any code that requires specific qualifications for a person or company performing welder or procedure qualifications. Some codes (generally military or European) require witnessing though.
Parent - - By jwright650 (*****) Date 06-29-2004 14:47
The AISC (American Institute of Steel Construction) requires that companies requesting certification through the AISC, have a CWI in it's employ at each location. I think this is where you may find other jurisdictions, like the AISC, or customers possibly requiring something other than; a person your company deems "qualified" to perform witnessing or testing of welding personnel.
John Wright
Parent - - By GRoberts (***) Date 06-29-2004 19:55
I don't believe that AISC requires the CWI to be the one that is responsible for welder &/or procedure qualifications does it?
Parent - - By jwright650 (*****) Date 06-29-2004 20:45