Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Tube steel and welder suggestions
- - By badpacket Date 07-07-2004 01:48

Hi All,

Just bought a house and finally have room for all sorts of tool to hurt myself with. I am currently looking at building a stand for a 100g aquarium, which will end up weighing in the neighborhood of 1200# easily. As the last time I did any welding was in highschool, I'm wondering what would be the recommendations for this project?

Any suggestions on what type of square steel stock to use? Aquarium is 60"L x 20"W. Since its glass, beam deflection needs to be minimal, however I'd still like to avoid having a 'leg' in the center of the front of the stand if possible. I guess it easier to ask it like this. I need to make a table that will support 1200#.

As a rusty novice, I am imagining that stick welding would probably give someone like me the better, deeper weld?

Thanks in advance. I'm looking at the Hobart's BTW.
Parent - - By pjseaman (**) Date 07-07-2004 04:48
I would go for a mig maybe a millermatic135 or if 220volt service is available a millermatic 175. These models have similar cousins in the hobart brand as they are relative companies the technology will be close to the same. As for the aquarium stand probably 1/8" wall 1" square would do the job nicely maybe make the upper rail of angle for a lip for the tank to sit into. you could make some scroll work out if 1/4" or 1/2" rod to add a decorative touch. BTW I have a millermatic210 with spoolgun for Aluminum and if the ability to weld aluminum strikes your fancy this is the machine I would start with. Mig has the shortest learning curve and you should be up to speed in no time.
Just one opinion,
pjseaman
Parent - - By badpacket Date 07-07-2004 06:23

Hi,