Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / Multiple Arc SAW
- - By roopchandel (*) Date 07-17-2004 04:44
I am planning to use multiple Arc SAW (3 Wires) for surfacing. Three wires will be depositing individual beads side by side with a good overlap or tie-in. All my power sources are DC and this means I must space out the electrodes. The electrodes will be offset by the amount of the bead width. I plan to use 4.0mm EL12 Wire and 550A. I have two questions:

1-What will be the bead width? This is important to decide on the electrode offset.

2-What should be the distance between electrodes ( considering all are DC arcs) so that there is no arc blow?

Thanks

R. S. C
Parent - By Len Andersen (***) Date 07-17-2004 15:20
I am an engineer and if the question hit my desk and a good
answer meant my job. Contact the suppliers and the machines
and the consumables. The sales guy often has good info and if
not there is normally a organization to back them up. I hope
this is helpful.
Sincerely
Len Andersen
lenandersen.com

Parent - By Tim Buyle (**) Date 07-23-2004 20:52
Bead width from SAW is depending on melting/flow rate (= current) , on arc length (= voltage) , on welding speed !!!

Imagine you are squeezing a tube of tooth paste : what will be the bead width ? This is in relation to the flow rate , the height of the tube to the table, the travel speed !!!

So ... think about this when doing some tests.

Also, think about "twin arc" welding : 2 wires in the same torch, with the same power source for surfacing : very quick, good results, easy to use !
Parent - By ajoy (**) Date 07-24-2004 10:24
I agree with Tim that the bead width depends on the current, voltage and the welding speed. Also, to get a relatively ripple free surface your electrode offset should be half the bead width.

Your decision to go for triple arc should depend on the following: