Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Who is Right?
- - By fikey (*) Date 07-19-2004 10:18
i have taken two "night" classes in welding. other then use of the shop, they have been largely useless. when i ask other people i know questions about metals, rods, mig vs. stick, etc., i get about as many different answers as people i ask. is there a definitive welding guide book (like chiltons is to car repair) that i can buy that will help me improve my welding? i am not a pro, just want to be able to get better at something i do quite a bit around the farm. i would like a guide that is not over technical also.
rich
Parent - - By Michael Sherman (***) Date 07-19-2004 12:40
Lincoln Procedure Handbook of Arc Welding, ASM Handbook (volume 6), Welding Science and Technology, Steel and its Heat Treatment, Jeffersons Welding encyclopedia and Welding Principles and Applications. The ASM book is referenced the most. But when I was just beginning I read the Lincoln Handbook from cover to cover and it was (and still is) extremely beneficial.

Mike Sherman
Shermans Welding
Parent - - By CHGuilford (****) Date 07-19-2004 13:34
In addition to the books Mike listed, there is another book that provides a lot of information on welding technique. It's published by Lincoln Electric and I believe it is called "New Lessons in Arc Welding" (or close to it). The book covers just about all welding processes, has illustrations, and was written as a textbook. You might find it useful.

None of the Lincoln publications cost a lot compared to other sources and you can even order it online or by phone. Info is on their web site.

Chet Guilford
Parent - By swnorris (****) Date 07-19-2004 14:06
Hi fikey,