Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / Steel Construction Joining Questions
- - By mckayn Date 07-27-2004 08:12
Hello.

I am a US student currently interning in Germany. One of the tasks I have been assigned is to research differences and similarities between US codes & Standards (ASME, ANSI, AWS) and European/German Codes & Standards. This assignment will be focused on joining methods in steel construction. The main joining methods would be spot welding, clinching and riveting.

So I was hoping to get some input on which codes and stadards people use in industry in the USA. If you can please provide the code number and where it is from and what it pertains to.

Also if you know where any codes and standards can be found without purchasing them that would be a great help.

Finally if you know anything about the differences between US and European codes and standards that would help too.

Thanks. Nick
Parent - By jwright650 (*****) Date 07-27-2004 11:30
Hi Nick,
One code that comes to mind in Structural Steel Construction is AWS D1.3-98 which deals with sheet steel.
- Arc Spot Welds
-- Sheet steel to sheet steel
-- Sheet steel to supporting member

There are the General Provisions of the code and it's scope in Section 1;
There are design allowables listed in Section 2;
There are prequalification of WPSs in Section 3;
There are Qualifications provisions listed in Section 4 for WPSs and Welders;
Section 5 deals with Fabrication;
Section 6 deals with Inspection;
And Finally Section 7 deals with Stud Welding.

I'm afraid that unless someone else has a source for referencing all of these other codes along with the one that I mentioned, we are all forced to purchase these documents/codes just to view them. Possibly you can find someone willing to let you borrow what you need, to keep you from having to purchase them, just to view them.