Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / need help with cast iron welding
- - By - Date 09-28-2000 15:55
I have been making repairs on cast iron gear housings for a couple of months in my shop. Everything i have done has been holding pretty well until the most recent machine. For some reason the welds have been cracking. The first time i welded this unit i used the S.M.A.W process with Ni99 rods. We did'nt notice the crack until we had the gear housing back on the machine(btw, these are 60 year old Acme Screw machines) and the gears in place. it was a hair line crack on a bearing bracket i had welded on it, i then used the G.T.A.W process using a rod by Eurecka called 5545, which is a copper nickle rod, after i made several small stringer beads to patch up the crack, it cracked again in other places besides the previous crack. I pre and post-heated, and now am stumped. I am sure the cracks are due to a fast cooling but there really isn't a way to stop that from happening.( no oven ) Does someone have an idea for me????? I really need a solution to this probled fast!!!!!!!
Parent - By RonG (****) Date 09-28-2000 16:31
Not knowing alot about your situation is a handicap but I will offer you an idea I have used on some tough cast iron repairs.
I have drilled a serious of holes along each side of the area to be repaired and drove little SS self taping screws. The kind they use to put Name plaques on machines (they have rounded heads and look like rivets) any way I then TIGed them together with 309. Not a pretty repair but it held things together.
Parent - By TimGary (****) Date 09-29-2000 13:10