Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Tracking shipments
- - By thcqci (***) Date 08-30-2004 18:49
I know this is not necessarily welding related, but many who participate here are in the QA/QC Departments for steel fabricators. So it is to them that I address this question.

As I have stated before in other threads, I have never worked for a fabricator before my current employment. All experience was as a third party inspector. Never had to worry about tracking shipments before. One of my biggest failures since I started here is failure to be able to accurately trace what we ship. I am currently a one man QC department so I can not stand beside a truck and play secretary so we get an accurate inventory of pieces placed on each truck. Apparently neither can anyone else we place out beside or on our trucks.

We do not have any barcoding capabilities currently. We use one of 3 method to mark pieces. If the piece goes through the Peddinghaus drill/saw line, then it is scribed. If not, then we either hand stamp directly on the piece or we stamp a 2" x 3" tag and weld the tag on each piece. Further, we write in larger letters/numbers with paintstick or marker on both flanges or the baseplate the ID of the piece. Finding an ID should not be a problem. But accurately getting it on paper obviously is. We have tried check off lists, writing pieces as they are loaded, both by crane/forklift operator and laborer on or beside the truck, and lists created by the office clerk to say what must go on a truck (not always possible due to geometry of pieces).

Is this a universal problem? How do other fabricators address inventory on trucks? Any suggestions would be appreciated!
Parent - By jwright650 (*****) Date 08-31-2004 14:54
Hi Doug,