Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / Certifications / would like to get certifed
- - By nspc6f (*) Date 10-29-2004 14:53
My name is nathaniel Peterson (Gnat)
I have been welding for about three years now. I am a graduate of Tulsa Welding School. I live in Columbia Missouri. I have gone back to school to become a Welding Engineer. I have started to do odd end jobs for friends. I have also been ask to do some work for constrution companies. They required certification in structral welding. Is there any place here that does certifing. I talked to the local pipefitters and Iron Workers union but they wanted me to join them. I do not think to highly of unions (bad experice). I would also like to become a master welder/fitter (structrual and pipe).

any advise would be helpful
Parent - - By pipewelder_1999 (****) Date 10-29-2004 17:27
You can check out the AWS Certified Welder Program at http://aws.org/certification/CW/ . In my experience each employer was responsible for certification of welders and very seldom did they accept certification from other employers.

If you can weld, most any non-union company will test you prior to hiring. This may or may not be a "certification" depending upon what type of work they do.

The normal practice I have seen for non-union boiler and pipe work is to certify on each project. Though not required by the codes many owners(Plants) require this. Also since welding records do not go between non-union companies to maintain a welders continuity a person is often required to retest since there is no record of their continued welding when they work for another company.

I have been welding for over 20 years and have yet to become a "master" . Let me know when you find out who does this. Some states may issue licenses.