Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / Certifications / ?? Trying to start welding
- - By shorty7874 Date 11-04-2004 01:25
Ok im new to the whole feild of welding. I would like to learn how and be certified if that is neccessary. I have been interested in welding for a while but havent looked into it. There are no welding classes in my high school but i want to learn how. Can anyone guide me on what to do?

Thanks,
Josh
Parent - By medicinehawk (**) Date 11-04-2004 02:40
Hey Josh,
You should get with your school's guidence counselor and have that person help you look up what community colleges or other trade schools in your area. Maybe, your parent(s) could help as well.
I have been in the welding field for over 20 years and I have thoroughly enjoyed my continuing education in the craft.
You should know however, that this is a dangerous profession. Fumes and smoke from arc welding ARE carcinogetic. Heat and the physical effort of welding also takes it's toll on a body.
If you are interested in becoming a welder, you should try it out first to see if it really is something you want to be doing for a long time.
You may know already that there are several different types of welding:stick welding(SMAW), mig welding(GMAW) or tig welding (GTAW) to name a few. Each requires more or less effort to learn.
Welding careers are different as well as the amount of money you can earn. Typically, fabrication shops which employ alot of welders do not earn as much money as heavy construction (pipe welders or iron welders)....the trade-off being you have to move to different job sites and you spend alot of time away from home.
I am a part-time welding instructor as well as a full-time welder. It is a demanding job (welding) but I have worked with metal all my life and it's what I do to provide for my family.