Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / Dynasty 300 Dx Help
- - By Lonny Doyle Date 11-09-2004 19:33
I have been welding cylinder heads with a Miller Dial Arc for about 10 years, it works ok but it is a little slow. About two years ago we bought a Dynasty 300 Dx and every head I weld has porosity problems. I was not convinced that it was the machine until yesterday. We hooked the old Miller Dial Arc back up and weld a head we were having problems with and it welded great. I have tried changing the frequency from 20 to 120 and the balance from 50 to 85. I feel like it is something in the heads that is being drawn out. I can weld new mat'l with no problem. I have no problems passing my certs on aluminum. This is a very expensive Investment to set aside and go back to the old Dial Arc.
Parent - By hankj (*) Date 11-10-2004 01:35
Lonny,

Take a shot at this forum and ask your question.

www.millermotorsports.com/mboard/

It's a hangout for us Miller owners, and there is a lot of good info to get. Hopefully, the resident expert (Andy) will get you an answer.

Hank

Parent - - By Lawrence (*****) Date 11-10-2004 02:11

Hey Lonny, Welcome to the forum

Having Beta tested Dynasty for Miller I can help you trouble shoot.

Start by making your Dynasty equal to your Dialarc:
60 Hz.
Balence 50-60...... Just a normal wave.

People get pretty jazzed up about these new inverters but the fact of the matter is that for work like your describing their is no real advantage unless the casting is massive and you chuck the Dynasty and buy an Aerowave.

Route the crack until 100% clean.. Verify with FPI or red dye

Go back to the big tungsten and forget the max clean settings. Most Castings require every bit of cathodic etch they can get.

If it's still bombing out look for a bad torch or wet argon.