Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / AISC Designation and Prequation info
- - By MikeZ Date 01-31-2005 19:51
I’m sorry for a basic question, but I am a small GC and I never worked with steel.
We had to hire the steel subcontractor for the job and his shop dwg. Came back from the Engineer’s office with a note above one of the welds “Submit AISC full pen designation and prequalification info” My sub is not sure what to do. Please help.
Parent - By jon20013 (*****) Date 01-31-2005 20:05
I am not an AISC expert and will be the first to admit it however (fellow forum members correct me if I'm wrong) I believe you can use D1.1 for the prequalification designation and information. Do you have access to an AWS D1.1? If you need some specific information drop me an e-mail and I'll see if I can help.
Parent - - By jwright650 (*****) Date 01-31-2005 20:06
Hi Mike,
I think what they are asking for is a "prequalified" full penetration weld. This is a weld that can be completed without qualifying a procedure first to prove that it will work. There are examples of these different "prequalified" joint designations in AWS D1.1 Structural Steel Welding code(AWS has already proven these to work, if followed). Section 3 (page 57) of this code specifies what criteria you must meet for the welded joint be considered a "prequalifed" status. If you have a copy of D1.1 :2004, the prequalified CJP details start on page 88 of Figure 3.4.
This should get you started in the right direction. If you need more assistance, post again with more info about the joint type, position, welding process to be used and etc.
John Wright
Parent - By MikeZ Date 01-31-2005 20:44
Thank you so much. Correct me if I’m wrong. As I understand it now we should get our hands on the D1.1 and submit the copy of one of the full penetration joint drawings or specs from the book.
Parent - - By thcqci (***) Date 01-31-2005 20:32