Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / stick arc performance
- - By rugg (*) Date 02-14-2005 17:07
i am not a pro; appreciate any comments. i recently stick welded plate to improve/repair a solid fuel forge. i used 6013 and the appropriate current (DCEN) for the rod. i found that there was very little room for error, as the arc did not cover both edges at times and therefore missed the joint. i found it not as easy to see the joint and the arc vs MIG or TIG. for much of what i did, there was good penetration and no bead porosity. i think that the joint preparation was fine. there was some edge irregularities(torch cut) in places. this is something that i have not had a problem with using MIG. i think part of my problem is experience, but i also think that limitations of the process is also contributing. thanks for the comments/advice.
Parent - - By 357max (***) Date 02-14-2005 18:15
Change the polarity to DCEP which is okay with the XX13. Grind the mill scale off all edges that will be part of the joint. About 120 to 140 amps with the 1/8" diameter electrode. If the gap is too great. weld one side then the other until the gap has narrowed to allow welding together without a lot of motion. The FYI the DCEN will provide shallow penetration and the DCEP will produce deeper penetration with the same amperage.
Parent - - By rugg (*) Date 02-15-2005 15:40
thanks for the comments. i have read that using AC results in a more stable arc, less ground path issues. is there any disadvantage in advancing the electrode away vs towards the welder? i think i would be able to see the arc and joint easier. thanks
Parent - - By Lawrence (*****) Date 02-15-2005 18:58

The direction of travel is arbitrary as long as you keep a couple of things in mind;