Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Welding helmet advice...
- - By Paul Cataldo Date 02-18-2005 20:47
Guys,
I am just getting into some OA welding, and soon will be practicing everything, from TIG, MIG to stick.
I could use advice on a good welding helmet, that will not cost $250!
I am not sure if some of the cheaper auto darkening helmets are any good or not? I know you get what you pay for with everything these days. What do I have to spend to get a good helmet???
Got any brands/models that you guys recommend? Thanks fellas. Just want to make the correct decision the first time...
Parent - By Southern Welder Date 02-18-2005 21:48
Paul
The cheap auto darkening helmet are ok, but sometimes they don't darken when you weld because of different types of light from shop light bulbs. On the good auto darkening helmets you can adjust sensativity,shade darkness, and how long it takes for the helmet to darken. I believe Miller or Hobart has some nice auto darkening helmets maybe under $250.

Southern Welder
Parent - By Sand Man (**) Date 02-19-2005 04:07
Paul,
Spend the money, you only get one set of eyes.
I have a Speedglas 9002, which is excellent, but like all auto helmets, doesn't work well in cold temperatures.
My standby is a Jackson flip lens that I have had for about 18years.
Jeff
Parent - - By burninbriar (*) Date 02-19-2005 05:53
Last week Indiana Oxygen Co had Optrel Satellites on sale for $238.00
Parent - By leon phelps (**) Date 02-19-2005 23:32
Check ebay. My local welding bandit chop charged me $350 for a helmet I could have had for $150 on ebay. Now I shop after getting their advice.
Parent - - By lance430 Date 03-10-2005 19:40
Hello Paul