Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / AWS Handbook Calculation
- - By - Date 10-23-2000 17:47
Hello! My name is Jeff Carney, I am an Assistant Professor in the Welding Engineering Technology Department at Ferris State University. Currently, with our juniiors, we are discussing how the cross-section of a single weld pass is roughly proportional to the energy input. We are using the AWS Handbook Volume #1, Chapter 2, pages 32-34 as the basis of our discussion.

Our end result is to calculate Aw. Invloved with calculating Aw is Q (a specific theoretical quantity of heat required to melt a given volume of metal).

My question is, "When calculating Q, what does 300 000 in the denominator represent?"

The units associated with Q are Joules/mm3.

Does a table of Q values exist for various materials?

your response to this issue would be appreciated by myself, and the students of the FSU welding programs.

Thank you,

Jeff Carney
Chairman, AWS West Michigan Section
Parent - - By JohnPhillips Date 11-08-2000 08:47
The velocity of light in a vacuum is 300,000 meters per second.

John Phillips
Parent - - By G.S.Crisi (****) Date 11-09-2000 15:09
Hops! The velocity of light in vacuum is 300,000 KILOMETERS per second. Now let me ask an ignorant question: what has the velocity of light to do with the heat input in a weld?
Giovanni S. Crisi
Sao Paulo - Brazil
Parent - - By JohnPhillips Date 11-10-2000 09:35
Giovanni,

Whoops! You are correct, of course...meant to say KILOmeters...slight difference.

As to what it has to do with heat input in a weld, I suspect this formula is derived from some basic law of thermodynamics that deals with heat transfer, and is related to E=MC^2, Energy (E) equals mass (M) times the speed of light (C), squared.