Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / SA 516 grade 70 vs SA 516 grade 70N
- - By Asim Date 02-22-2005 07:09

I am an inspection engineer for pressure vessels and equipment in a Petrochemical Plant. Just came across the subject and need to know what is the difference between 70 and 70 N. I have checked in my handbook of ASTM standards but it is not there. Is it "Normalized" plate vs PWHT plate or different?

Asim.
Parent - - By G.S.Crisi (****) Date 02-22-2005 14:48
The letters SA denote that it is an ASME standard, not ASTM. ASTM standards for ferrous materials are preceeded by the letter A.
So, you should look into ASME Code Section II, that contains all of the ASME standards regarding materials of construction.
In most cases, ASTM and ASME standards are identical, but sometimes are not, and hence my recommendation.
Unfortunately, I havn't got the ASME Code at hand at this moment and can't give you any further help.
Giovanni S. Crisi
Sao Paulo - Brazil
Parent - By Asim Date 02-23-2005 05:02
Basically I knew SA and A difference but could not find suffix "N" in my ASTM hand book. You are right that I may look into ASME codes.
Thank you for your post.
Parent - - By metalcare (*) Date 02-22-2005 15:48
N - indicates normalised condition.
Please check the ASTM standard A515 for detailed designation of its suffix. 60, 65 & 70 are different grades each denotes its tensile strength in ksi.

Hopefully this helps.

Muthu
Parent - By Asim Date 02-23-2005 05:05
I was also expecting the suffix N denotes "Normalised" as I had indicated in my post. Thank you for clearing my doubt.
Parent - - By Bonniweldor (**) Date 02-23-2005 15:51
My suggestion for you is that you need to understand the metallurgical reasons for why the N grade may be specified. There are services where use of a non N grade will be a violation of Code and/or susceptible to failure in service.