Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / TIG arc temp ?
- - By rugg (*) Date 02-24-2005 00:20
isnt the temp of the ARC constant? that is, the temperature of the arc is the same regardless of the "amount" of current used to create the arc. an arc @ 50amps is as hot as an arc @ 300amps, all other things being the same.

thanks
Parent - - By ajoy (**) Date 02-24-2005 07:10
The temperature of the arc is not the same for all currents. Generally, higher currents will produce a plasma of a higher energy. The temperature of the arc is predominantly governed by the shape of the arc. If a constricting orifice is placed before the arc to constrict the plasma, this will increase the temperature of the arc.
This phenomenon is utilised in the plasma welding process for obtainig higher welding speeds for key-hole welding techniques.
Parent - - By rugg (*) Date 02-24-2005 17:54
dont get me wrong, i am no expert. i am trying to understand what i read. i very much appreciate your input. i have read that the arc temp using a tunsten electrode is in the range of 35k deg F. the power source manipulates the arc characteristics for given applications (current, polarity, frequency, ect...). the "force" of the arc and the surface area of the arc is not what my question is. if a "typical" arc is 35K degrees, this is roughly 17X the melting temp of the metals that are welded. heavy plate does not require higher arc temperatures vs thin plate; higher arc temperatures is not the reason to use high current and other variables. is this flawed reasoning? thanks
Parent - - By OSUtigger (**) Date 02-24-2005 19:18
Ill take a shot at this one, but someone please correct me if I am wrong...