Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Need advice on where / what to buy
- - By shoppinmama Date 02-25-2005 04:50

Hi to all,

was wondering if I could get some weigh-ins on what kind of welder I might get my husband for an upcoming birthday.

And also where to buy from.

His brother is a welder and recc. a Lincoln sp-175 T for what he would be doing at work, most importantly stainless, which they have to job out seasonally ... he said he really wished he could do it himself, so I am hoping
this will be a good gift and not like me getting a washer or dryer for my birthday!

I am wondering what the big differences are between the sp-175 t and whats called the 175 plus?

Also, I would really like to get it somewhere like home depot or lowes just in case we need to make a return .... I am hesitant to order from an online company since I have no experience with them and would imagine making a return on something like this would be a nightmare.

So, could you all give me your thoughts on the 175 T and the 175 plus, (if they are indeed 2 different welders, I don't know enough about them to make heads or tails out of the specs)

and also, some safe, reputable places to buy from?

I believe one of their distributors is Air Products, and I am pretty sure my husband's company has an account/deals with them.

Also, since this will be used mostly for work, is this like a non-gift? or do you think he would enjoy it enough that that won't matter.

He has some basic welding skills. I would also like to buy him some lessons from someone who is proficient in stainless.

thanks for any input. Please post replies here,

thanks

shoppinmama
Parent - By Mike W (**) Date 02-25-2005 06:33
Hi, I think you would get a good answer over at:
http://www.hobartwelders.com/mboard/index.php?
Parent - By stillman (*) Date 02-25-2005 07:25