Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welders and Inspectors / Welding Equipment Classifieds / WTB: Broken tig stuff (midwest plz)
- - By greenbuggy Date 03-02-2005 06:29
Thats right, I want to buy broken tig stuff. I'm something of a newbie, I am currently setup with a buzzbox for doing stick, a Lincoln Pro-Cut plasma cutter, a dinky lincoln mig and an older 300 Amp hobart mig. But I want to learn to do tig, and at the cost of a miller econotig or similarly capable welder I can't really afford it (or justify spending half my summer working a manual labor job just to get one...I've got college to pay for)

I have something of a talent for electronic repair, but I want to learn tig. I am also a college student and somewhat short on cash, so it would be my preference to buy a broken tig welding power source - I don't need the torch, foot pedals, gas, regulator or any of the other accessories.

My preference would be for something that has high frequency capabilities, reasonably small (I doubt I'll ever need much more than 250 amps) and located reasonably close to either des moines/ames Iowa (where I got to school) or minneapolis/st.paul (near where I live). I might be willing to pay for shipping to my location depending on item/condition, but would much rather just go pick it up.

You can email me at botboy60 (at) hotmail (dot) com. Negotiable on price based on condition, features and age. Email me with what you've got. Thanks.
Parent - - By weldersales (**) Date 03-04-2005 03:17
Actually, you can buy a full-fledged ac/dc 300 amp industrial tig for as little as 375.00. These sturdy well built Hobart welders will last a lifetime and in most cases are easy to repair. The down side is they are heavy as well as heavy duty - weigh about 1350 pounds as I recall. weldersales
Parent - - By greenbuggy Date 03-04-2005 03:40