Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Welding Photography
- - By caman Date 03-03-2005 14:34
I need to take some pictures of the actual welding process on some projects.
Never did this before.
I have access to both digital and 35mm equipment.
Do I need to use any particular lens filters?
Are the photographers eyes safe when looking through the camera with no protection?
Any tips and advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks.
Parent - By jwright650 (*****) Date 03-03-2005 15:07
I would like to see the replies on this too.

My opinion would be that the person taking the picture "should have" a welding lens in front of the viewer portion of the camera. Another thing that comes to mind is "overexposed pictures" with all the light that is generated from welding. I'm not a pro photographer either, so the camera may be able to be set up to handle that amount of light, I don't know. I'm one of those photographers that use the "AUTO" settings :)

Are you looking to capture details of what the welder is seeing as he/she welds? or just a welder in action?
John Wright
Parent - - By 357max (***) Date 03-03-2005 15:08
Wear flash goggles (colored safety glasses) Set the camera up to trigger remotely and flood the arc with light greater than the arc. No filters are necessary. If you don't use a light source use a welding filter but still trigger the shutter remotely so you don't need to view through the camera.
Parent - - By jwright650 (*****) Date 03-04-2005 18:55
If any of you have a few pictures that you wouldn't mind sharing, please email them to me at Jwright650@aol.com. Add AWS or something recognizable in the subject line so the spam filter will let it through.
Thanks,
John Wright

I'm looking for a few ideas for an upcoming student weld off. I hope to get a few good shots with the students in action.
Parent - - By DGXL (***) Date 03-04-2005 20:25
John: