Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / "Walking The Cup?"
- - By awill4x4 (**) Date 10-26-2000 12:31
I am a TIG welder here in Australia and on a number of posts here recently, the term "walking the cup" has been mentioned.
Can someone please enlighten me as to its meaning because it's a term not heard of over here.
regards Andrew.
Parent - By - Date 10-26-2000 16:38
Picture yourself moving a loaded 55 gallon drum across your shop, or whatever, floor. This is basically how you "walk" the cup. You don't pick up the drum, you roll it side to side, to move it across the room. Hope this helps.
Parent - By NDTIII (***) Date 10-27-2000 05:48
Walking the cup is a term related to TIG welding whereas any good TIG welder will use. It is a term describing using a cup sized for the groove. You would then place the cup directly on the bevels and weave. This provides stability for the root, hot pass and any filler passes where you can get the cup into the groove. Of course you would have to change cup sizes for each pass, then freehand the final passes. It also helps when the welder has a hangover and can’t hold his hand still (just kidding. We know welders don’t drink). Slagman's description above regarding the 55 gallon drum is pretty much a good description. I hope that answers your question. If you use that Down Under and have a term for it, please tell us what it is.
Parent - - By - Date 10-28-2000 01:37
My first experiences with "cup-walking" ocurred with the influx of out-of-state welders to central Michigan in the late 60's for a nuc plant being built across the river from my chemical plant.
What Slagman and NDTIII have said is correct but I'd like to try and expound on it a little further from my experiences with steel, SS, & nickel alloys in schedule 10 thru 80 in NPS's to 6".