Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Inspection & Qualification / MT & PT Procedures?
- - By KeithCWI Date 03-13-2005 02:04
I'm new to the NDE world. I may be asking a question to something i should know but I'll ask any way. I just got my Level 2 MT and PT. The level 3 instructor teaching me said i had to get procedures signed off by a level 3 and that's about 1,000 dollars per procedure. How about some pre qualified procedures for this. We only have so many ways to test welds using these 2 methods. I can see having procedures wrote by a level 3 for RT or UT maybe but PT and some of the dry MT testing is just about as simple as it gets. I'm sure if i read more in D1.1 I'll see info where i can find these procedures. Thanks for any help on this you may have.
Parent - By NDTIII (***) Date 03-14-2005 04:32
If you are working to a code, you would not only need to have the procedures approved by a Level III in those methods, you also need to have your own certification procedures.
If you are performinmg the NDT yourself, you would have to have a procedure within your company either designating a Level III or designating an outside agency to certify you and your procedures. You can use an outside agency, as long as they meet the requirements of SNT-TC-1A or whatever document you are working to.
Taking a course does not certify you as a Level II.
You must first gain documented experience and then be certified to your comapny's procedures.
This is a requirement of SNT-TC-1A.
Of course, that all depends on what your client will accept.
Parent - By wblum (*) Date 03-29-2005 17:59
Visit www.ndt-cgi.com. I am a consulting Level III who can provide you with Level III approved procedures for less than $1000.00 per procedure.
Parent - By Bill Mc (**) Date 03-30-2005 18:28
I have a question: