Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Whats out there for me?
- - By Coastie Date 03-15-2005 17:19
Hello,
I wanted to throw this question out to get some ideas from people in the industry.
I am about ready to transition from the Coast Guard where I am in- charge of a basic and advanced welding school (CG). I am an AWS certified welder with a current CWI/ CWE certification. I am going to be looking for a job in the next four months. Here is my problem: Even though I have my certifications and experience within the military world, I have no civilian experience. Does anyone have any opinions as to what type of work I should be looking for? Although I do have a good general knowledge of the field, I am not confident enough to go out and market myself as an experienced inspector. What type of position should I be looking for? Maybe an ACWI? Any suggestions would be great. Thanks, Tim Hilty
Parent - - By CHGuilford (****) Date 03-15-2005 17:39
Tim,
From what I have seen from people with military welding training, you should not consider yourself as inexperienced. And AWS welder certifications, CWI, and CWE certifications are the same regardless of who you work for. Also, I would not think you would be in charge of a school that teaches people to weld on multi-million dollar equipment if your superiors didn't think you were qualified.

Your humble attitude is respectable but don't sell yourself short. I would prepare a resume that highlights your experience and length of service (as well as the other usual info) to advertise yourself and your capabilities. Just be factual in your job interviews, state what you do know, and acknowledge what you don't.
As for type of position, I think the question you should ask is, what do YOU want to do? Then find out what you need to get there. Chances are, you already have the required experience.
You will do just fine.

Chet Guilford