Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / TIG or Braze Chromoly
- - By - Date 10-28-2000 20:11
I'm currently building roll cages out of DOM, TIG welding all the joints. I have a customer that is interested in a Chromoly (4130) cage. I understand that if the chromoly is TIG welded, it will need to be normalized. Is there anyway around the normalizing process... I've heard that somepeople braze chromoly cages??

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Gabe
Parent - By Goose (**) Date 10-29-2000 00:21
I am a novice welder myself, but have been around racecars for many years. You may want to check with the sanctioning body your customer races under. Many times they will state the rules in which certain materials need to be welded. I myself am a drag racer and have to follow the NHRA rulebook. For mild steel cages (almost all are ERW mild steel) MIG or TIG is allowed. For 4130 cages, NHRA requires the TIG process. I have spoken with several chassis builders and they used a mild steel filler rod (either ER70-S2 or S6). The moly cages can be heat normalized by using heat "crayons" at the correct temp.

In NHRA, mild steel cages are required to be .118 wall thickness min. and most builders use .135 wall to make sure they pass sonic testing on the outside of bends. With moly tubing, we are allowed to drop down to .085 wall thickness. I'm not sure why your customer wants 4130 unless he wants to save weight if you use a heavy wall DOM. It is my understanding that NASCAR uses .085 or .095 DOM, so weight savings of moly would probably be nill.

BTW, what type of racing are you building cages for?

Todd Geisler
http://www.MalibuMuscle.cjb.net
Malibu Muscle Racing
Parent - By awill4x4 (**) Date 10-29-2000 12:44
Hi Gabe.