Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Total Newbi ?
- - By Safari Date 03-18-2005 20:08
Hi everyone,

I became interested in welding some time ago, went to the library, got a book, read it, got all excited and went out and bought a used Oxy-Acetylene set up. I did this because I wanted to learn the basics and would be doing this only as a hobby.The fellow from whom I bought the set from was an elderly gentleman who was retiring from the business. He showed me how to light the torch, adjust the flame, melted some rod in front of me and then demonstrated how to use the cutting torch. By the way, the set up consisted of a Victor handle, cutting attachment, various nozzles, tips, rosebud heater, large Victor regulators, goggles (#5 ), a pair of new gloves, 56 cu. ft acetylene cylinder, 126 cu. ft oxygen cylinder, 35ft. of hose plus the cart. I was happy to pay him $300.00 for the set. I don't know if that was a good deal or not but I can live with it.

Anyway, I got home with it and realized all the questions I forgot to ask!
Such as:
1. How much pressure should I be using for A/O? (#2 nozzle).
2. How long is that neutral flame supposed to be? Is it supposed to be hissing and be so harsh or is it supposed to be a soft/gentle flame when trying to make a weld puddle?
3. How long should it take to make this weld puddle with a #2 nozzle on mild steel about 1/16th thick?

I'm sure I will have many more questions as time goes by but if some one has some suggestions I would appreciate them.

Thanks to all.
Parent - - By thirdeye (***) Date 03-18-2005 22:25
Safari,

Welcome to the forum.

Here is a link to Wall Mountain Company. In their training video selection they have OXY-ACT Welding and Torch Cutting. Sometimes seeing it by example makes it clearer.

http://www.weldingvideos.com/

~thirdeye~
Parent - By Safari Date 03-20-2005 17:01