Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Best TIG welder options?
- - By MLP Date 03-28-2005 02:33
As a hobbyist I have done a fair amount of cooper soldering. But my desire to make larger pieces is making solder impractical. I would also like to get away from the very noticeable solder lines. I mostly work in 16-20 gage copper. From what I have been able to gleam from research is that a TIG welder would be the best bet.
Considerations for the welder:
- Able to weld small pieces of18-gage copper. (so good low range, 5 amp or less?)
- Since I do not have a permanent workspace it needs to be portable. (not over 100lbs)
- Versatility is a huge plus. I sometimes need to weld steel for work. Usually 1/8 but perhaps as thick 1/4 at times. Most job sites have a MIG welder available but not always. It is also nice to know your equipment and not have to assess if the equipment on the job site is in good working condition. It is also easier for me to justify the purchase for a hobby if I can also use it for work.J
- I am not as concerned with Aluminum welding but would like a machine I can grow into if I ever decide to move that way. (not having to shop for a new or second welder in a years time is nice)
- And of course there is always the price and value factor. I would like to get the most for my buck without going bankrupt.

A lot of ifs and addendums I know. I was curious to get some opinions and where I might need to do a little give and take. Trying to do it as close to right the first time as I can.
So I would love to hear some opinions and recommendations.

Thanks folks.
Parent - - By pjseaman (**) Date 03-28-2005 02:40