Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / Welding 4130N to Mild steel?
- - By Masta Date 05-06-2005 01:54
I have a friend who has a 4-point roll cage in his car currently that is 4130N cro-moly. We are wondering if standard DOM tubing can be used for the front half of the cage? How does everybody feel about heat-treating the 4130N after Tig welding it? Can the ER-80S filler be used without issue? Any thoughts or advice would be greatly appreciated. I am a pro welder, but normally Tig Stainles and alum., I've never really encountered this. I know I've used Mild Steel baseplates with a moly cage with no issue, but never really a mixed cage. Thoughts?

Thanks

D.
Parent - - By jwright650 (*****) Date 05-06-2005 11:31
Might better check the governing rules at the track your friend frequents. I'm hearing from other car forums http://www.nastyz28.com/ubb/Forum23/HTML/002553.html that NHRA and others are moving towards all C/M cages/frames (even in the slower classes) and allow only GTAW(TIG) joints in the "as welded" (no grinding on the welds) condition.
John Wright
Parent - By Masta Date 05-06-2005 23:40
No issues with rules, I'm more concerned with the metalurgy(sp*) involved regarding welding steel to cro-moly.

Thanks

D.
Parent - - By - Date 05-07-2005 09:53
Actually, 4130 is an HTLA (Heat-Treatable Low-Alloy) steel. Although it is sometimes called a "chrome-moly", that is not the case. The 4130 lacks the minimum required moly content (0.45%) and exceeds the maximum carbon content (0.20%) to be considered a chrome-moly steel product form.