Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Processes / Solder / Brazing to connect spring steel
- - By stimpy Date 06-23-2005 01:50
Hello,
so I have some experience with stick welding and a little experience with actylene torches.
I have two thin pieces of spring steel I need to connect together. The pieces are part of a puppet that gets a lot of usage. A welder friend told me I had to braze or solder the spring steel with a torch since it couldn't be welded. Is this true? If so, what is the proper way to braze or solder the pieces?
I have tried to wrap the joit with thin copper wire, coat the joint in flux paste, and then applied the torch till the spring steel turned reddish orange. When I applied the solder, it pools up but doesn't seem to penatrate the joint. Also, if I hold the torch on the joint too long, the copper wire melts. I've retried this method without the copper wire, and then without the flux to no avail.
So what am I doing wrong?
Parent - - By billvanderhoof (****) Date 06-23-2005 05:31
If this failed in service it is almost surely a fatigue failure. This means the metal in the area is almost surely fatigued also. This means the repair will most likely not last very long. Next heating to dull red is enough to mostly anneal a carbon steel spring so the attempts at repair so far have changed the spring (cooling rate had an effect too). If I were you I would find someone who repairs antique clocks and ask him what to do. Making a new spring would not be a great challenge to such a person and is the only repair I would have any faith in.
Bill
Parent - - By stimpy Date 06-23-2005 05:50