Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welders and Inspectors / Education & Training / Student with some questions?
- - By welderntraining Date 07-06-2005 14:44
I am a student enrolled in a welding class. I have had a limited amount of experience welding before I enrolled in classes. I have found myself jobless because of a takeover of the papermill I worked at.I have decided to try my hand at a career in welding. The bad thing is I'M in a bit of a time and money crunch. So I will only be able to attend formal training for one semester.I would like to know how common is it for structural welders to take an open butt vee groove welding test? Also what are the criteria the bend test has to meet (ie.visual cracks undercut ..) I'M learning how to put a root in a vertical (up) 3/8 inch plate with an E 6010 at present. My roots are continuisly getting better but I'm nerveous about meeting my deadline and doing well on a real world welding test. Any advice and or opinions will be greatly appreciated.
Parent - - By QCCWI (***) Date 07-06-2005 14:49
How far are you from Roanoke, Alabama?
Parent - - By welderntraining Date 07-06-2005 15:06
Yahoo driving directions says close to 250 miles from roanoke al.
Parent - - By QCCWI (***) Date 07-06-2005 15:14
That is about 5 hours away so unless you are planning a move my suggestion is out.
Parent - - By welderntraining Date 07-06-2005 16:26
What suggestion ? I intend to work construction so I may have to hit the road any way.
Parent - By swnorris (****) Date 07-06-2005 19:39
Before the coupons are cut from the welded test plate, the welded test plate must first meet visual inspection criteria. After that, the coupons are cut and bent. The acceptance criteria for bend tests per AWS D1.1 Structural Welding Code involves a visual examination for surface discontinuities of the bent test coupon. The coupon is acceptable if the surface contains no discontinuities greater than: