Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Questions about the Tig 6g pipe test
- - By jay72chevy (*) Date 07-06-2005 17:40
A local welding place test for a tig position. A lil about myself. I have done Tig welding at a welding school in all postions steel thin materials, and did stringers on pipe and saw demonstrations on how to weld two beveled pies together. In my past ive done alot of oxy aceytelene welding also. My questions are when you take the test what schedule and how many amps to use on wall thickness. I know the second pass you turn machine up hot pass. I am a right handed welder so i would approach the test with my right knee on groundleft knee up two work pedal. Do they make you use the pedal? I would think bump start or button on torch. Can you make it around the pipe not knealing? Is there a height guidline where u place the pipe you have to follow on taking the pipe 6g test? I have done walking the cup method and thats what they require also. I probably ask them do they want anything written too? Any extra advice would be helpful Thanks
Parent - - By medicinehawk (**) Date 07-07-2005 08:19
Most places who want TIG - pipe welders do not use a foot pedal. Alot of places I have tested at will let you set the height of the coupon (if kneeling is a problem) but many places have a fixture which clamps the coupon after you tack it on the bench.
Usually if a shop wants a tig/pipe welder they will test you on stainless steel pipe as that would require(usually) to tig the coupon out ALL the way whereas carbon steel pipe would use a tig root & hot pass with 7018 for the fill & cap.
You need to be specific (what alloy you are welding ) as the amperage is quite different for each, but here is a ball park setting: for stainless steel-304L or 316L you would use 55 to 70 amps DCEN. For carbon steel you might use 100 to 125 amps DCEN.