Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / HF-251 Freq. inducer
- - By Dr. D (*) Date 07-27-2005 11:58
Hey All,
I was wondering something about the miller HF-251 unit and tigging Alum.
I'm thinking about getting one for the field and it says you can tig alum, but how can one effectively do that if there's no way of adjusting your A/C balance. Your waveform would basically be set at 50/50 balance correct? And all you would really do is heat up the alum and basically clean the surface without being able to get decent penetration.
Seems like it would weld the same as if you set your machine on A/C and just scratch started it, except for the fact you wouldn't have to scratch start.
Am I missing something?
By the way I have welded Alum. using Synchrowaves, Aerowaves and Cobramatics, I haven't welded pop cans yet but I have some decent experience with Alum., just haven't used the HF-251 before.

Thanks
Parent - By Lawrence (*****) Date 07-27-2005 13:40
Good Doctor.

You are correct about the wave form being a garden variety sine wave with no balance control. The superimposed HF produced from that HF 251 box will help the arc re-establish after passing through the zero point and thereby reduce the phenomena of "rectification".
http://www.millerwelds.com/education/TIGhandbook/pdf/TIGBook_Chpt2.pdf
http://www.millerwelds.com/pdf/spec_sheets/AY5-0.pdf