Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / Stainless in contact with carbon steels
- - By jon20013 (*****) Date 08-05-2005 12:52
I'm hoping to get another lively discussion started here. As many of you know, I work in the nuclear industry where there has been a long taboo of disallowing stainless steels to come in contact with carbon steels.

My position on this matter is casual, short term contact in "normal" temperatures and humidty levels have no effect on the stainless steels.

I recognize that cutting instruments (grinding wheels, saws, etc.,) which have been previously used on carbon steels should not be used for working on stainless steels as they could embed carbon particles into the stainless causing rust blooms, etc.

I am hoping the metallurgists will provide some guidance regarding "causal" contact however; is it a problem to place a stainless steel item on a carbon steel workbench for a couple of hours? I don't think so... I can understand that long term storage of stainless in contact with carnon steel could be detrimental.

Opinions please!
Parent - By chall (***) Date 08-05-2005 13:07
I think the answer has less to do with the actual potential for cross contamination (in your specified situation). I think it goes to the mindset that you want to instill in all parties. If they are allowed to treat some situations casually, there will come a time when they treat the wrong situation casually and it will cost you.

Stainless should be segregated from carbon steel at all times. A work bench used with carbon steel materials will have trace levels of iron on it that could become imbedded in the stainless (however insignificant that level of contamination may be).

I know this is the level of expectation from customers who pay the extra money for stainless; but I also know it is rarely adhered to (our facilities included).

Charles
Parent - - By - Date 08-05-2005 13:14