Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Advice about mig machine.
- - By Geoffroy Date 09-18-2005 02:00
I'm not a professionnal but I do serious welding jobs ( mostly trailers build ) . I saw on Ebay a Mig machine build by Chicago Electric. Also I saw a other one build by Deca. I would like to have your advice about the quality of these machines. I know is not Miller, Hobbart or Canox but I don't have money to buy machine build by these company.

Thank you for your advise
Parent - By pjseaman (**) Date 09-18-2005 18:14
Save your money, get a good machine, or you'll have regrets later. I own a millermatic 210 and would recomend nothing less.
Parent - By leon phelps (**) Date 09-19-2005 16:39
The cheap machines are junk. For close to a thousand, you can buy a name brand reliable welder. You will also be able to buy parts and consumables for the name brand. Most times when you need replacement parts, the el-cheapo welders are either discontinued or out of business.
Parent - - By billvanderhoof (****) Date 09-20-2005 05:27
Stick process machines are simpler and hence cheaper and mostly last forever. Trailer building is a good fit to these machines. A good hand can make a fine job of it. If you go that way you will probably still own the machine so you can teach your grandkids to weld with it.
bill
Parent - - By Geoffroy Date 09-21-2005 02:08
I know stick machine is simpler. It is what I use actually but my machine is dead and I look to buy a other welding machine. I think I will buy a other stick machine and I will save money to buy a good mig machine.

What are best MIG machine, Miller, Lincoln electric, Hobart, Canox ?
Parent - By pjseaman (**) Date 09-22-2005 02:35