Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / bubbling?
- - By paulherrmann Date 09-20-2005 07:40
Hi, I am new to this forum. I have a query regarding tig welding mild steel - I am self taught. We normally do stainless and use argon, but need to do something in mild steel. I have been using ER 80 filler rods and argon. Some welds come out perfectly but with most others there is occasional bubbling in the puddle which leaves holes when cooled and when finishing the run there is a huge(approx dia. 4mm) bubble that stays upon cooling. I have even tried sanding the weld area to bare/shiny metal and cleaning the surfaces with laquer thinners. Any help or URL links most appreciated. Thanks Paul
Parent - - By jwright650 (*****) Date 09-20-2005 11:34
Are you experiencing porosity just at the ends of your welds? You might be loosing the gas shielding by pulling away too fast after you break the arc, before the puddle has set up.
John Wright
Parent - By jerrykroll (**) Date 09-20-2005 12:06
if you're using a copper coated rod, it may be causing some porosity as you describe.

In my experience some coated rods have caused a similar problem.
ER70S-2 (copper coated) have always produced consistently good results. If you need ER80, there may be an 80S-2 ?

also make sure that your HF is set to "start" if you use it. I have seen welders get a bubbly/stirring effect when they have inadvertently put HF to continuous setting when welding with DCEN.
Parent - By Lawrence (*****) Date 09-20-2005 13:38
Welcome to the forum Paul,

Several possible reasons for what you have happening.