Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / Technical Discussions / My root pass is contaminated by ceramic
- - By weber (*) Date 09-23-2005 22:01
Dear friends,
I’ve used a circular ceramic backing, or retainer, with a 13mm diameter to weld an “EN10025: S355J2G3” material with 36mm thickness for a PQR with an X groove.
After welding and removing of ceramic, I saw that part of the ceramic, which was in contact with melted weld metal and welding arc, is melted. It is my first time that I use ceramic backing and I’m worry about result of my test. Because I suppose that my root pass is contaminated and there is some silicon pick up in the root pass; although my root pass appearance was good. I guess silicon pick up, because melted ceramic was glassy.
My you help me in this regard please?
Parent - - By swnorris (****) Date 09-24-2005 11:36
weber,

The ceramic backing will be partially melted away during welding. This is normal and shouldn't really be anything to be concerned about. I don't think contamination is an issue either. If the very use of ceramic backing would cause contamination of the root pass, it would defeat their purpose. If you're familiar with stud welding, take a look at the inside of ceramic ferrules after studs are shot. Part of the ceramic is melted and black. Ceramic ferrules for automatic stud welding are essentially doing the same thing as ceramic backing, with no adverse affect on the welds on the studs.