Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic American Welding Society Services / Certifications / Question for a CWI
- - By pipehead (***) Date 11-24-2005 02:26
I am a pipeline welder and am taking a job where the Certs are not something I am familiar with. I have API and ASME certs but this job is calling for AWS B1.1 testing code and B2.1 weld code? The project is large diameter pipe with a single bevel horizontal seam and a lap weld at the joint. (they are split cans for a reline project.) I know the test is also going to be single bevel. I just need to know the testing procedure and test set up. Gap, positions, open root, etc...

We are running dual shield wire .045, CO2 if that helps
Parent - - By Bill M (***) Date 11-28-2005 13:47
AWS B2.1 is the "Specification for Welding Procedure and Performance Qualification"

AWS B1.1 is probably a typo and is likely D1.1

You will have to qualify all welding procedures for any joint welded without backing, from one side only.

The typical welder certification joint is a single bevel 60 deg. included angle, 1/8" (max.) root opening, 1/8" (max) tall land. See figure 4.24 in AWS D1.1.
If you already have ASME procedures and welder certs the Engineer has the option to approve those for use without re-qualification. (See AWS D1.1: sections 4.1.1.2, & 4.1.2.1)
Parent - - By pipehead (***) Date 11-29-2005 02:09
Thanks
I do have current procedures and Certs for ASME although I don't have any that are FCAW.

So I will have to run vert.,overhd,horiz., because there is no 6g on a plate test Correct? And these tests will be coupon bend tests? Sorry not real familiar with AWS.

Also where can I get a copy of the D1.1 codes?

Again Thanks For the help
Parent - By jwright650 (*****) Date 11-29-2005 11:57
According to D1.1, Table 4.9 to be qualified in ALL (groove) positions on plate, you'll need to take a 3G(vert) and a 4G(overhead) position test(s).