Not logged inAmerican Welding Society Forum
Forum AWS Website Help Search Login
Up Topic Welding Industry / General Welding Discussion / Advice for a new guy...
- - By Michael1227 Date 12-04-2005 02:12
Please forgive me if I put this in the wrong forum, and please forgive the length…. I graduated from Tulsa Welding School this past July at the top of my class. I’m at a crossroads and wish to have some of the vets out there, as well as, new guys offer their advice. I want to break into the welding field something awful! I would prefer to do field work mainly power plant or refinery kind of work. The problem is I don’t believe the school really prepared me for the workforce. Yes, I think I can weld fairly well, however, we all know real world experience is worth a lot more than lab experience. I’m 29, and have an IT job which is barely paying the bills in today’s day and age. I’ve always liked welding and have been around it ALL my life. I learned how to weld in Ag mechanics in high school, and held a welding job briefly when I got out of high school, before getting laid off. That’s when I got my current job. Anyway, I’m concerned that if I make the jump to try to go ahead and take one of the jobs TWS is lining me up for me. I could end up over my head and lose the job and not be able to pay the bills. I would really prefer to start at a more entry level position, but I’m sure the pay would reflect that. Anyway, without writing a novel, I would just like to here some of the folks out there tell what their first days on the job were like and how I can get over these jitters. I’ve almost got my replacement trained so I’m getting anxious to get out in the field. I’m pretty proficient in combo and tig welding. The thing that really kicks my arse is a 6010 root. And being that I’d like to do pipe work, I know that is a process that’s extremely important. Anyway, again sorry for the length, any advice would be greatly appreciated. Michael